# **CURRICULUM & INSTRUCTION DIVISION REORGANIZATION**

## WHAT ELSE IS NEW FOR 2008-2009?

- The Curriculum & Instruction/Student Support Division has been reorganized (effective July 1, 2008) into two departments.
- The new departments are called:
  - o Curriculum (Dr. Earlean C. Smiley, Deputy Superintendent)
  - Educational Programs & Student Support (Dr. Joann Harrison, Deputy Superintendent)

## WHAT YOU NEED TO DO?

- Be aware of the change and act accordingly
- Coordinate any concerns to the correct department
- See attached breakdown of departments for more details

## WHAT WILL HAPPEN IF YOU DON'T?

✿ Your items and concerns will be delayed

### WHO NEEDS TO KNOW?

All School Board Employees

### HOW WILL YOU COMMUNICATE FOLLOW-UP?

- What Else is New
- Memo to Principals Cab Conference
- District Cab Alert
- District Bulletin Board (Cab)

## CONTACT

Curriculum Dr. Earlean C. Smiley, Deputy Superintendent 754-321-2110

#### 2008-2009 OFFICE OF CURRICULUM OFFICE OF EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS AND STUDENT SUPPORT

OFFICE OF CURRICULUM					
DEPARTMENT	DIRECTOR	REPORTS TO:			
Core Curriculum Specialists	N/A, Director	Diane Carr, Executive Director Core Curriculum	Dr. Earlean C. Smiley, Deputy Superintendent Curriculum		
Learning Resources & Instructional Materials	Michele Rivera, Director	Diane Carr, Executive Director Core Curriculum	Dr. Earlean C. Smiley, Deputy Superintendent Curriculum		
Bilingual/ESOL	Victoria Brioso Saldala, Director				
Career, Technical, Adult, Community Education	John Miracola, Director	Sayra Hughes, Executive Director Multicultural, ESOL, & Program Services	Dr. Earlean C. Smiley, Deputy Superintendent Curriculum		
PreK-2	LaQuita Lee, Director				

OFFICE OF EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS & STUDENT SUPPORT					
DEPARTMENT	DIRECTOR	REPORTS TO:			
Advanced Academic Programs	Cynthia Park, Director				
Before & After School Care (BASC)	Deborah Gavilan, Coordinator		Dr. Joanne Harrison, Deputy Superintendent Educational Programs & Student Support		
Broward Virtual	Christopher McGuire, Principal				
Charter Schools Support	Luwando Wright-Hines, Director				
Grants Administration/Government Programs	Frank Mandley, Director	Leslie Brown, Executive Director Educational Programs			
Instructional Technology	Dr. Jeanine Gendron, Director				
Magnet/Program Development	Leona Miracola, Director				
Program Development & Alignment	Debra Friedman, Director				
School Boundaries	Jill Young, Director				
Research Services	Russell Clement, Director		Dr. Joanne Harrison, Deputy Superintendent Educational Programs & Student Support		
Student Assessment & School Performance	Paul Houchens, Director	Research Development & Assessment	Educational Programs & Student Support		
Athletics & Student Activities	Damian Huttenhoff, Director	Dr. Joanne Harrison, Deputy Superintendent, Educational Programs & Student Support			
Diversity & Cultural Outreach	Dr. Elizabeth Watts, Director				
A++/NCLB	Veda Hudge, Director				
Dropout Prevention/Alternative Education	Joel Smith, Director				
Exceptional Student Education	Denise Rusnak, Director				
Health Education Services	Marcia Bynoe, Director		Dr. Joanne Harrison, Deputy Superintendent Educational Programs & Student Support		
Psychological Services/504	Dr. Mark Lyon, Director				
School Social Work & Attendance	Dr. Laurel Thompson, Director				
SSS Fiscal & Data Operations	Wendy Gonsher, Director				
Title I, Migrant & Special Programs	Vera Ginn, Director				

DEPUTY SUPERINTENDENT:	SECRETARY:	PHONE NUMBER:	
Dr. Earlean C. Smiley	Jillian Cain	754-321-2110	
	Elsa Varipapa		
Dr. Joanne Harrison	Joanne Dilallo	754-321-2100	
	Cece Guerrero		
ASSOCIATE SUPERINTENDENT/EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR:	SECRETARY:	PHONE NUMBER:	
Dr. Katherine Blasik	Jackie Primeau/Diane Sedberry	754-321-2471	
Diane Carr	Jill Benson	754-321-1850	
Sayra Hughes	Pat Miner	754-321-2977	
Leah Kelly	Cathy Walker	754-321-2560	
Leslie Brown	Kathleen Ginestra	754-321-2130	